The complex was built between 1893 and 1903 named “Bilgiig hugjuulen badruulagch hiid” /The temple of developing wisdom/ and dedicated to the 8th Bogd Javzandamba, the head of Mongolian religion.
On April 1, 1926, after Bogd Khaan’s death of illness in 1924, a state museum office was created and it was decided to transmit the remaining property of the Bogd Khaan to public museum ownership.
It was converted to a museum building, displaying objects of historical and artistic value, religious idols, the royal collection os stuffed animals, and other items wich had been owned or used by the Bogd Khaan.
Now the Bogd Khaan Palace Museum consist of seven Summer Prayer temples and the Winter Palace, which was built in European style.
The collections of the museum include unique and valuable objects related to Mongolia’s political, religious, and artistic history from the 17th to early 20th centuries; bronze castings, silk paintings, and papier macheicons made by well-known artists and artisans of the period, among others the first Bogd Zanabazar and his school; as well as objects owned and used by the 8th Bogd Jivzundamba and his wife Queen Dondogdulam, including royal clothing and equipment, gifts from domestic and foreign guests or representatives, and item purchased by the king for his own diversion.